Call script with parm

I am very new to applescript so be kind to me.:slight_smile:

I am trying to have one script call another script and pass a parm then have the called script return 3 variables.

I don’t seem to be ab le to get it right. I can remove the parm’s from both scripts and the calling script will call the called script. Maybe someone can give me some help in getting the code to work.

Thanks for any help or suggestions
Roger

– Calling script
set myType to “BK”
set myCount to “”
set myData to {}
run script file “Macintosh HD 2:RGS:RGSLoader.scpt” {myType}
return {myType, myCount, myData}

– Called script (RGSLoader)
on run {myType}
– Load data for citation type
set myCount to “000”
set myData to {}
– Set values for each record
if myType = “BK” then
set myRec001 to {"(BK) ", “001”, "Page Number ", “Page Number:”, ", “, “attribute”, “N”, “Next”}
copy myRec001 to end of myData
set myCount to myCount + 1
set myRec002 to {”(BK) ", “002”, "Person of Interest ", “Person of Interest:”, ", “, “attribute”, “Y”, “Next”}
copy myRec002 to end of myData
set myRec003 to {”(BK) ", “003”, "(recorded ", “Date:”, “)”, “Date”, “Y”, “Done”}
copy myRec003 to end of myData
end if
return {myType, myCount, myData}
end run

Hello and welcome to MacScripters.

You are not that far away from having a working solution!

You should really look into the Applescript Language Guide.

First of all, you must load the script before you run it.

set mscr to load script ("Hfs:path:to:my:script" as alias )

You need to specify that you are passing parameters to the run handler.

tell mscr to run with parameters { your parameters }

you should really specify the three variables you use as global, in both scripts!

Hth

Hi Roger. An echo to McUsr’s welcome.

What you want to do should be as simple as this in your calling script ” that is, you set your three variables to the values returned by the called script:

set myType to "BK"