Call subroutine

Hi, I think you will be hearing a lot from me in the near future…

Still converting old projects to ASOC.

I have a call to a subroutine and it is not working. I seem to be missing some basic concept. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong.

on launched_(theObject)
    set my statusText to "Initializing"   --This works
    my CheckAllServers_()   --Here is my call
end launched_

on CheckAllServers_()
   log "Got here"   --This does not show in the log so it is not getting here.
end CheckAllServers_

Model: iMac
Browser: Firefox 3.6.4
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.6)

I am no expert, but try doing this:

on launched_(theObject)
        set my statusText to "Initializing"   --This works
        my checkAllServers()   --Here is my call
    end launched_

on checkAllServers()
       log "Got here"   --This does not show in the log so it is not getting here.
    end checkAllServers_

There shouldn’t be an underscore here either (It won’t keep it from working, but it’s not correct syntax). Underscores mean arguments – one underscore for each argument a method takes if you are using cocoa methods. If you are using your own methods that are in the same script, you can use them or not, but you shouldn’t use them if the method takes no arguments. You also don’t need the “my” in front of the call.

That being said, putting in the underscores shouldn’t have prevented your method from being called – it’s bad syntax, but you could put in 5 underscores if you wanted, as long as you had 5 in the method name as well, so I don’t know why it didn’t work. Are you sure that the launched_ method is being called?

Ric

Tried all of the suggestions and still didn’t work. I ended up taking my code that was in the on launched block, and I put it in the “on applicationWillFinishLaunching_(aNotification)” blobk that is created by default when you create the project. Now it works.