Called script

I have a script that I call from another script. If I don’t call it it runs great but if called I get the following error – Can’t get item 1 of {}.

Being a beginner I am sure I am doing something stupid but I can figure out why it will run if not called and fail if called??
The only thing I do is comment out the on run and end run statement of the called program and uncomment out the set myCitType lines.

thanks for help
Roger

on run {myCitType}
– for testing only
–set myCitType to “BK”

global myCitCount
set myCitCount to ""
global myCitRecords
set myCitRecords to {}
global myCitation
set myCitation to ""

-- Format Citation for outpput
GetLoadCitRecords(myCitType)

-- format citation
set myRepeat to 1

repeat
	-- get record to format
	set myRec to item myRepeat of myCitRecords -- <<<<<-- this is where the error occurs 

-- do function getFormat
	GetFormat(myRec)

-- increment myRepeat to get next record
	set myRepeat to myRepeat + 1

-- check if Done button pushed
	set myDone to item 8 of myRec
	if myDone = "Done" then exit repeat

end repeat

--send finished formated citation to clipboard
set the clipboard to myCitation

end run

–***************************************************************************************
– Sub Load Citation Records
–***************************************************************************************

on GetLoadCitRecords(myCitType)

-- define fields
set myCitRecords to {}
set myCitCount to ""

-- Set values for each record
if myCitType = "BK" then
	set myRec001 to {"(BK) ", "001", "Page Number ", "Page Number:", ", ", "attribute", "N", "Next"}
	set end of myCitRecords to myRec001
	set myCitCount to myCitCount + 1
	set myRec001 to {"(BK) ", "002", "Person of Interest ", "Person of Interest:", ", ", "attribute", "Y", "Next"}
	set myRec001 to {"(BK) ", "003", "(recorded ", "Date:", ")", "Date", "Y", "Done"}
end if

return

end GetLoadCitRecords

– Format Record based on passed variables function

on GetFormat(myRec)