Can Applescripts affect Windows XP via network?

Hi,

I’m very new to applescript (I read a MacWorld article, but that’s about it), but not scripting concepts. The printshop at which I work wants to use applescripts to improve workflow. I wanted to know if it was possible to do the following:

Have an applescript pop up a windows messenger alert on an XP Professional system.

We have an art department which is mac-based (currently Classic, but OSX somemonth soon, I hope). They routinely transfer files to a shared snap server which is also accessible by a PC which controls the printers (just read that over–I hope it made sense). When an art job is transferred, I’d like to pop up an alert for the PC-user (printer operator).

I’m open to any suggestions or thoughts–at the worst, this can’t be done, but I’ll learn something useful anyway.

Thanks,

Adam
Plum Grove Printers

The short answer is “no”. AppleScript has no way to hook into a Windows system and effect it. An alternative might be to have an AppleScript send the operator an e-mail. While I dont’ use AppleScript to send e-mail, I know there are various ways to do it from either pre-OS X or X systems.

Email is a good idea. But I had another thought, have the XP box keep an HTML file open that refreshes every, say 15-30 seconds, or less if you want. Make sure that HTML file is on a shared volume like your Snap server or something. Then, when you want to send the dialog, have Applescript update that HTML document to throw up a javascript alert, (dialog), onLoad in the body so the next time the PC refreshes the HTML the dialog is triggered. This would not be an instantaneous event, but very close to it. I’m thinking have the Applescript reset the page a minute or two after, to give the XP box time to refresh the page and catch the dialog.