can this be done

I am a complete novice with this. I have been posting to apple’s applescript forum and gotten some good help, but I found this and figured I would try here too. In a nutshell this is what i am trying to do, we print files out of indesign and quark xpress, the files go through our workflow and place a PDF in a folder when it is done. The PDF has the same name as the file that created it, just a different extension. I want to move the pdf to the same location as the native file. so when a PDF is placed in the folder on the server, i want it to tigger a search for the same file name minus the extention, and move the pdf to that location. i am using an 10.4.5 xserve… here is a script someone wrote to help me out, but it is not working and i don’t know enough to figure it out.

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving these_items
	set Quark_ext to "qxp" -- change this to actual Quark extension
	set InDesign_ext to "indd" -- change this to actual InDesign extension 
	set server_path to "Raid:Production"
	repeat with _item in these_items -- loop thru multiple dropped items
		tell application "Finder"
			set AppleScript's text item delimiters to {""}
			set _name to name of _item -- name with ext
			set name_extension to name extension of _item -- extension, that would be PDF
			set AppleScript's text item delimiters to {("." & name_extension)}
			set _name to text item 1 of _name -- name without ext
			set AppleScript's text item delimiters to {""}
		end tell
		-- search for same name with Quark ext
		set search_server to my find_file(_name, Quark_ext, server_path)
		-- search for same name with InDesign ext
		if search_server is "" then my find_file(_name, InDesign_ext, server_path)
		-- nothing found, exit
		if search_server is "" then return
		tell application "Finder"
			-- get server folder
			set server_folder to container of (POSIX file of search_server)
			duplicate _item to server_folder
		end tell
	end repeat