"Can't get item errors" on move after renaming files.

I’m reworking Folder Action scripts to use ‘on idle’ instead. I’m new to AS so I’m learning cool stuff. But I need help with the last part of the script that moves the renamed files. I’m just guessing by looking at other examples on how to set the files.

I’m missing something in the last couple of lines. Missing the step to redefine the renamed files so finder can move them. I don’t know enough about AppleScript to know what that exact step is. It compiles but I get "Can’t get item (item 1 of {class docf= filename here and so on through the folder path of the source folder.

on idle
	set PathToDesktop to path to the desktop as text
	set layersRenameFolder to (PathToDesktop & "On-Line Proofing1:1 Layout Proofs InDesign:Layout_Rename_LAYERS") as alias
	tell application "Finder" to set these_items to (every file of layersRenameFolder whose kind contains "PDF")

--Check to see if there are one or more PDF files in the LayersRename folder on the desktop
	if the number of items in these_items is greater than 0 then

tell me to activate
		display dialog "Files located. Script starting!" buttons " " default button 1 giving up after 2

--Go through all PDF files, one at a time
		repeat with PDFfile in these_items
			--rename PDFFile
			set this_item to (item PDFfile of these_items)
			set fileName to name of PDFfile
			set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "-"
			if fileName ends with ("ALL.pdf" as text) then set newFileName to (text items 1 thru 2 of fileName) & "1.pdf" as text
			if fileName ends with ("CAR.pdf" as text) then set newFileName to (text items 1 thru 2 of fileName) & "1.pdf" as text
			if fileName ends with ("BOS.pdf" as text) then set newFileName to (text items 1 thru 2 of fileName) & "2.pdf" as text
			if fileName ends with ("BER.pdf" as text) then set newFileName to (text items 1 thru 2 of fileName) & "3.pdf" as text