Can't make ... into type reference

Sorry for the complete newb question. I looked around a little, but didn’t see a simple answer. I’m wondering why this doesn’t work:

tell application "iPhoto"
	class of selection
end tell
--produces "iPhoto got an error: Can't make class of selection into type reference"

However, this works:

set junk to selection
	class of junk
end tell
--produces "list"

The fact that I’m using iPhoto is irrelevant - I’ve seen this sort of thing happen with many applications; iPhoto just seemed like a reasonable candidate. I figure this is some fundamental thing that I just never figured out. Thanks!

AppleScript: Applescript 2.0
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.5)

In this case, and in nearly every other similar instance, the problem you encounter involves what it returned by the command you issue. For instance, selection returns a list, even if only 1 photo is selected. To learn more details about that selection, you have to address it specifically:

set a to selection
	class of (a's item 1)--gets the information of the first item in the list, which is fine for a single selection
end tell

If you are unsure of how many items are selected, you need to loop through the selection:

set a to selection
	repeat with aa in a
		display dialog (class of aa as Unicode text)
	end repeat
end tell

Hope this helps,

Yes, it took me a while to notice the difference between a single item and a list of items in my first few scripts, but my current problem seems to be more fundamental. In this example, I’m not curious about the class of the first item in the selection, I’m curious about the class of the selection itself. Which I would expect to be “list”. But it doesn’t seem to be.

I guess another way to ask my question is: why does my script not work work when I ask iPhoto’s selections for its class, but work fine when I introduce an otherwise unnecessary variable?