Changing Display colors

I am attempting to create a script that will change my display colors to 256 and back. I am able to get to opening the correct window but I am unable to select 256 colors. I am very new to this but am very willing to learn. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This is what I have so far that works,

tell application “System Preferences”
activate
set current pane to �
pane “com.apple.preference.displays”

Read this:
http://www.apple.com/applescript/uiscripting/
Download the “UI Element Inspector” and learn to use it. Take a look to the examples at Apple’s site. You will come with something as the following:

tell application "System Preferences" to ¬
	set current pane to pane "com.apple.preference.displays"

--> wait a bit
delay 5

tell application "System Events"
	tell process "System Preferences"
		--> click the related popup button
		click pop up button 1 of group 1 of tab group 1 of window 1
		--> click the related menu item ("menu item 3" is "256 colores" in my machine)
		click menu item 3 of menu of pop up button 1 of group 1 of tab group 1 of window 1
	end tell
end tell

I have been trying this and have not been having success. I am not a Panther user yet so my question is do I have to be upgraded to Panther to get this to work?

Thanks

Get a copy of cscreen and install it (I placed mine in /usr/local/bin/) and then you can do a shell script call from AppleScript to it to change the resolution/depth of your monitor:

set old_depth to (word 2 of paragraph 3 of (do shell script "/usr/local/bin/cscreen -l"))
do shell script "/usr/local/bin/cscreen -d 8" --change to 256
delay 2
do shell script "/usr/local/bin/cscreen -d 16" --change to thousands
delay 2
do shell script "/usr/local/bin/cscreen -d 32" --change to millions
delay 2
do shell script "/usr/local/bin/cscreen -d " & old_depth --change back to previous setting

Jon