changing file permissions

I’m having an issue with files sent across a network not allowing write access. We have tried to change permissions settings on the involved computers with no luck. Is there a way to force write access with an Applescript/shellscript?

Of course not !!
Unless you have username and password of a privileged user.
In this case you can use a shell script with administrator privileges

Hi, my first post here
I am totally new to applescript and I want to make a program of some terminal commands

I have a similar issue

I want to change file permissions on a kext
here is my applescript:

do shell script “sudo chown -R root:wheel mykext.kext” with administrator privileges
do shell script “sudo chmod -R 644 mykext.kext” with administrator privileges
do shell script “/bin/sleep 2”
do shell script “sudo kextload mykext.kext” with administrator privileges

if I run those commands in the terminal, it’s np
but does not happen anything if I run that applescript

thoughts?

Hi,

sudo is the same as with administrator privileges. Apple recommends to omit it
See also: do shell script in AppleScript

do shell script "chown -R root:wheel mykext.kext" with administrator privileges
do shell script "chmod -R 644 mykext.kext" with administrator privileges
do shell script "/bin/sleep 2"
do shell script "kextload mykext.kext" with administrator privileges

hi stefan, thanks for the quick response

I tried removing the sudo but still get same result.

I tried it in automator too. It does not prompt for password so it complains no askpass program specified
however after some time of messing around the automator app ran, probably because I just authenticated myself just a while ago

the automator code did the job. but still can not authenticate the user. after a relog the automator app keeps failing cause there is no authentication.

have it like this:
http://krull.se/code.png

so there is nothing wrong with the code