Checking for text at the end of a string and adding if missing

Hi,
I’ve written an applescript that re-sizes postscript files based on a percentage.

I’m basically just passing a bunch of variables to sed to find and replace values in the .ps file.

I would like to have a save as dialogue for the re-sized file that is created.

I’ve created a variable to get a user created file name. See below:

set outputFile to choose file name with prompt "Set file name and location of the reduced file:"

What I would like it to be able to check the string for a .ps file extension and add it if it’s missing.

I’m very new to Applescript and scripting in general and feeling a bit lost.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Chris

First of all welcome!

String concatenation is quite easy in AppleScript because you only need the ampersand between two strings (or variable holding the string). So you example would look like this.

There is also a begins with and ends with operator that works for lists and strings.

set outputFile to choose file name with prompt "Set file name and location of the reduced file:"
if outputFile does not ends with ".ps" then set outputFile to outputFile &  ".ps"
--now outputFile always ends with .ps

Hi DJ. Don’t you have to convert outputFile to text first?

set thePath to outputFile as text
if thePath does not end with ".ps" then
	set thePath to thePath & ".ps"
end if

return thePath

Otherwise you would get {file “Mac OS X:Users:DJ:test”, “.ps”}

Correct! I haven’t tested the code but choose file names doesn’t return a string so you need to coerce it first.

set outputFile to (choose file name with prompt "Set file name and location of the reduced file:") as string
if outputFile does not end with ".ps" then set outputFile to outputFile & ".txt"
--now outputFile always ends with .ps

Thanks guys. That was super easy.

My script is working pretty damned well if I do say so myself.

So, I have another question.