Comparing two lists of aliases

Hello,

I’m new to Applescript and I have some questions.

What I’m trying to accomplish is monitor the contents of two folders, one local and one server folder. I want to add any files from the local folder that do not exist on the server folder and remove any files that exist on the server folder that do not exist on the local folder.

This will be put into an on idle handler to keep the two folders in sync.

I have written a script handler that goes through a folder and returns a list of aliases of all the files in that folder. I run this for both the local and the server folder.

on getFileList(currentFolder)

set iTemBucket to {}

tell application "Finder" to set folderAlias to every item of currentFolder

if not (folderAlias = {}) then
		repeat with currentItem in folderAlias

set currentItemKind to kind of currentItem

if currentItemKind = "Folder" then
				set iTemBucket to iTemBucket & getFileList(currentItem)
			else
				if currentItemKind = "MPEG-4 Audio File" or currentItemKind = "MP3 Audio File" or currentItemKind = "MPEG-4 Audio File (Protected)" then
					set iTemBucket to iTemBucket & (currentItem as alias)
				end if
			end if

end repeat

end if

return iTemBucket

end getFileList

This returns a list of aliases of all the files in the folder: currentFolder

I then run a compare script that compares whether items in folder 1 are in folder 2 and should return a list of items that are not in folder 2.

on compareFolders(items1, items2)

set newItems to {}

tell application "Finder"
		repeat with currentItem in items2

display dialog "Checking Item: " & currentItem as text

if currentItem is not in items1 then

set newItems to newItems & (currentItem as alias)

display dialog "Adding Item: " & currentItem as text
				display dialog "Currently items are " & newItems as text
			end if

end repeat

end tell

if (not (newItems = {})) then

display dialog "There are new Items: " & newItems as text
		return newItems

else