Configure Folder to 'Act Like' File When Opened

Hi All,

Expertise Level: I am new to apple scripting but not programming.

I am trying to configure a folder (when double clicked) to open a file contained in the folder. I know this sounds silly, but my intentions are to hide unnecessary contents of the folder for the user. For instance lets say I have a movie folder for ‘Saved by the Bell: Hawaiian Style’ (greatest movie ever made, jk). In this folder I have the movie (SavedByTheBell.mpeg) and other information such as subtitles (SavedByTheBell.srt), etc. The movie needs this information in the subdirectories but this is not something the user needs to know. In other, words from user prespective its better if the folder, when opened, opens just the movie file (SavedByTheBell.mpeg).

What’s more, I want to make a generic script that opens the *.mpeg file contained in any folder I specify (ie. so I can use script for other movie folders). What I’m trying to do is somewhat like apple has ‘packaged’ its applications. Please give me suggestions.

Cheers,
ScKaSx
MacBook Pro Intel 10.4.11

Use a folder action then attach a script to the folder. Something like this script should do it for you. Then I guess you could even give the folder a new icon which looks like a movie file, then the user wouldn’t even realize they were opening a folder.

property movieExtensions : {"mov", "avi", "mpg", "mpeg"}

on opening folder this_folder
	tell application "Finder"
		close window 1
		set theFiles to every file of this_folder
		repeat with aFile in theFiles
			if name extension of aFile is in movieExtensions then
				tell application "QuickTime Player"
					activate
					open aFile
				end tell
				exit repeat
			end if
		end repeat
	end tell
end opening folder

This should get you started.
I would do a search for Folder Actions and familiarize yourself
with their use.

Save this script in:
“COMPUTER_NAME:Library:Scripts:Folder Action Scripts:”