Consecutive Alphabet File Names

HI :smiley:

I’m new to AppleScripting.

I’m looking for a droplet that will rename a set of documents with a consecutive alphabet letter. For example,

I have exported a multipage document from InDesign as EPS. The resulting set of EPS files are named FileName_1.eps, FileName_2.eps, FileName_3.eps, and so on.

What I need to find is a script (preferably as a droplet) that will rename the documents as FileName_1-A.eps, FileName_1-B.eps, FileName_1-C.eps, and so on. I also need it to batch rename all files.

Thanks for your help?

I can think of a way but it would be a bulky script using a lot of “if” statements. Unless you have to do this often it might be easier to just do it by hand.

If you really want a script then I suggest setting up a variable that is a list of the names of every file of the folder, then setting a variable that increases by 1 for each loop, then a set of if statements saying “if myvariable is equal to 1 then set lettervar to A” etc.

Then tell it to “rename item x of filelist to (name of item x & lettervar)”

The only problem I can’t solve off the top of my head is how to get the additional letter to come before the extension but I’m sure there’s some way to get that to happen.

Filename 1.9 http://scriptbuilders.net/category.php?id=2120
is a script I wrote to tackle those huge batch file renames, as a droplet. Select a bunch of files, drop them, give a name, and a number to start the order. If it doesn’t know the windows extension (.jpg, .mpg) it will ask for that too. Superfast!

No problem. What if you have more than 26 documents in a batch?
FileName_1-A.eps-
FileName_1-Z.eps-
?
I suppose it would continue with FileName_1-ZA.eps … I’m sure there’s a better way but I’ll get back with script.
SC

One answer is to “parse the text”, get only the name: filename_01
Set the alphabet to a list; every letter then has an “item #”- A is item 1 in the list, B is item 2 in the list, and so on.