Convert clipboard to plain text

I’m new to AppleScript and want something that strips all formatting from text in the clipboard. I’ve seen a few posts on this, from which I gleaned the following:

set the clipboard to «class ktxt» of ((the clipboard as text) as record)

Problem is, when I paste into, say, an Outlook message, the text is formatted as Helvetica. Pasting into Word its Geneva.

Ideally, I’d want the clipboard’s contents to be equivalent to if I’d copied it from a TextEdit window having pressed SHIFT+CMD+T (Format > Make Plain Text).

Some of the solutions involved scripting for for a specific application (choosing the “Paste and Match Style” menu options) but I want this to work everywhere. Possible?

Thanks
Stuart

Model: MacBook Pro
AppleScript: 2.2.1
Browser: Chrome 21.0.1180.82
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.7)

Why can’t you use paste and match style?

Isn’t that the correct font if you paste and match style into that documents of said applications?

Which applications do you use that doesn’t support paste and match style?

:slight_smile:

Thanks for your response.

No. In Outlook it’s Calibri and in Word it’s Cambria.

Good question. Perhaps there are none. But in the script I don’t want to have to target a specific application. Do I have to?

How about ?

the clipboard as text

Isn’t that what I’ve tried? See my initial post.

It is converting it to plain text. Copy formatted text from word and then run this:

set the clipboard to (the clipboard as text)
return the clipboard as record

Unfortunately it doesn’t work. In Outlook it still appears as Helvetica; in Word, Geneva.

I think that has to do with the defaults of the programs, not the type of text in your clipboard. For example, type some text in Text Edit, copy it, and run

the clipboard as record

Now, paste that text into Word.

I only get that if I have TextEdit in plain text mode. By default it isn’t, and if I run that script this is what appears in the Results pane: