converting AIFF files to AAC

As part of my work as a science writer, I frequently record interviews that I subsequently transcribe. All the recording hardware and software I use produces AIFF files, but these are huge and so I always convert them to AAC and trash the original AIFFs.

I do this manually, copying the AIFF files into iTunes, selecting the Convert to AAC menu item, then copying the resulting AAC files back to the folder where the original AIFF files resided (I don’t want to keep everything in iTunes), and finally deleting the AIFF and AAC files from my iTunes library.

What I’d like to be able to do is drag the original AIFF file onto a script applet, have it mobilize iTunes to do the conversion, and have the resulting AAC file appear in the same folder as the original AIFF file - without creating copies in my iTunes library.

Is this doable?

/hb

Here is a quick hack that worked for me. It should be easy to refine it and make a droplet to suit your needs.

set original_file to (path to desktop as text) & “whatever.aiff”
convert(original_file)

on convert(original_file)
set save_tids to AppleScript’s text item delimiters

tell application "iTunes"
	activate
	set current encoder to encoder id 35 -- AAC, at least on my machine
	set converted to item 1 of (convert {original_file as alias})
	set converted_file to (location of converted) as text
end tell

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ":"
set original_file_folder to (text items 1 thru -2 of original_file) as text
set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ""
tell application "Finder" to move file converted_file to folder original_file_folder with replacing

tell library
		delete converted
	end tell

quit
end tell

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to save_tids
tell application "Finder" to delete file original_file

end convert