Converting some text files (Any help appreciated)

I am a little new to some of the Applescripting stuff. I have made a few little applications before but nothing too complicated. What a I am looking to do is take a text file that has data arranged like this:

00:05:13.00<tab>00:05:16.04<tab>The Loyalist Committee<P>has arrived, Your Honor. 01:04:37.12<tab>01:04:40.00<tab>Let me help you with that.
and convert it to code that looks like this:

$FontName = Arial $FontSize = 65 //The following subtitles are for scene one. 00:05:13.00 , 00:05:16.04 , The Loyalist Committee<P>has arrived, Your Honor. 01:04:37.12 , 01:04:40.00 , Here we see them bring down a moose.
Those tabs are not actually written in the document like that but they represent there are tabs there.

I have access to BBEdit which i think may help.

I am not looking for someone to write the code for me, but just a little direction on how to even start working on this. Thank you all and I hope someone can help!

Okay not too diffcult, but I like that you asked for advice rather than the answer. To do what you’re looking for you don’t need BBEdit at all. What you need to use are Text Item Delimiters and reading/writing with AppleScript. Do some searches round the board :smiley:

Ok for some reason i am completely blanking on how to do this, I guess i have never written a script that involves opening a file and changing its contents (i wrote some HD mounting scripts). So i think i am going to break this down into its parts that i am going to need help with:

Part 1: Opening the original File
From what i understand, it looks like i am going to want to use the open for access command. The one thing i would like to be able to do is have a Open File dialog window come up where i can point to the file. I dont know if i need to use Automator for this basic function or if i am going to have to make a GUI with the developer tools.

Part 2: Processing Time Code