Copy file to folder of application

Hello, I’m new to Applescript.

I want to choose a file and copy it to the folder where the applescript app is located.

I wrote this script, but is does not work:

tell application "Finder"
	get POSIX path of (container of (path to me) as text)
	set myFolder to result
end tell

set myFile to choose file with prompt "Choose file"

duplicate myFile to myFolder
end tell

Any suggestions?

Hi,

AppleScript expects HFS paths (colon separated), not POSIX paths (slash separated)

set myFile to (choose file with prompt "Choose file")
	duplicate myFile to container of (path to me)
end tell

Note: the coercion as text is not needed, path to me is an alias and the Finder can get the container of it

or, in one line

tell application "Finder" to duplicate (choose file with prompt "Choose file") to container of (path to me)

StephanK, Thank you! That’s what I needed.

Now, I’ve run into another problem, I also want to get the name of the file that was chosen to use in a shell script.

I tried this line but I get AS error message.

set myName to name of (myFile as text)

Just for an overall picture of what I’m trying to do.

1. Choose file and move to known folder location. (Done)
  2. Get name of file. (Need)
  3. Run shell script on file. (Will work if the file name and path is already hard coded in script. However I want the file name to be variable. By doing step 1, I already know the path to the file.)

Thanks again.

the error occurs, because you try to get the name of a string (path), this is not possible

use also the Finder to get the name

set myName to name of myFile
end tell

StefanK, Thank you so much. It works just as I wanted. I’ll be sure to credit you in the program.

Here is how it is used in xCode

if name of theObject = "choosefile" then
			duplicate myFile to container of (path to me) with replacing
		end tell