Copy new files in folder to another folder on another server.

Hi,

I am a newbie to this but am looking for a script that will automatically copy files that are placed into a folder into another folder on another server. I’d like to use a script in conjunction with folder actions to do this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Josh

what do you have so far?

Let us know and we can help plug in the holes.

Thanks for the reply. This is what I have so far.

tell application "Finder"¨duplicate (every file of folder “Path:to:source”) to folder “path:to:dest:” with replacing¨end tell

I want to have this functionality assigned to a “hot” folder as an folder action and that is what I am working on now. If I manually enter in my source and destination into this script, it works but I’d like it to be automated when files are placed into the input folder. What I’d really like is for it to read part of the file name (job number) and put it into a folder with those same characters (job number). Basically, I need these files to be copied to the appropriate job number folder in our library on a remote server.

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Josh

Time is almost done at work so lets see if I can get you started in the right direction…

Okay this should server as an idea for how to work with folder actions and the on add action

on adding folder items to thisFolder after receiving theFiles
	repeat with thisFile in theFiles
		tell application "Finder" to duplicate file thisFile to folder "path:to:dest:" with replacing
	end repeat
end adding folder items to

From there its a matter of determining the files proper location before actually doing the duplicate… this can happen a number of ways depending on what your file naming conventions are.

Thanks so much! I’ll work on this tonight.

That works perfectly, myndcraft! I set up a folder action with this script, modified the destination, and it is just what I need. Thank you.