Copying appleworks text

Hi,

I’m new to applescript, and am trying to write a droplet to make textedit files from the contents of appleworks 6 files.

I’m stuck on the FIRST step, so there’s probably something simple i’m missing. (after spending hours in the applescript guide pdf, and searching here)

Problem: I get a “descriptor type mismatch” whenever i try to get the text body of an appleworks document.

on open fileList
	launch "textedit"
	launch "appleworks 6"
			repeat with myFile in fileList

tell application "AppleWorks 6"
				set mytext to text body of document myFile
				activate
				set the clipboard to mytext
-- I get the same error when using "set myText to the text body of document myFile"
			end tell

end repeat

end open

I’ve cut the rest of the script for now, as the problem is in the above! Why would i get a descriptor type mismatch when getting the text body from the appleworks document? Thanks!

Browser: Safari 419.3
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Hello

Using a wrong syntax gives wrong result :wink:

set myFile to "Macintosh HD:Users:yvankoenig:Desktop:myFile.cwk"

activate
	open file myFile
	set the clipboard to (get text body of document 1)
	close document 1
end tell

To be short, you don’t have a document available if you don’t open it.

Yvan KOENIG (from FRANCE lundi 26 février 2007 12:27:22)

Thanks Yvan!

Silly of me to miss the “open” line, and misplace the activate…

For the record - another large problem was that i needed to “open file (myFile as string)” rather than just “open file myFile”.

Hi Julian,

You just need ‘open myFile’ because myFile is a valid reference an alias reference.

Edited: and BTW, if you want to preserve some formatting, you could save as rtf which TextEdit can work with. e.g.

set dp to (path to desktop as string)
	activate
	set n to name of front document
	set file_spec to (dp & (text 1 thru -5 of n) & ".rtf") as file specification
	save front document in file_spec using translator "RTF"
end tell