copying metadata from itunes song to another

Hi!

I’m new to this forum as I’m new to AppleScript. This is my first try with AppleScript. I’ve searched for it in these forums, in Google… nothing. Here is my problem: iTunes returns “Unknown object type” when I try to copy the “date added” metadata of a song to one another. Here is my code:

tell application "iTunes"
	if selection is not {} then
		repeat with newItem in selection
			set newArtist to artist of newItem
			set newAlbum to album of newItem
			set newName to name of newItem

set oldItem to item 1 of (tracks of source "MyPCLibrary" whose artist is newArtist and album is newAlbum and name is newName)

-- oldItem, here, is rightly pointing to desired song

set date added of newItem to (get date added of oldItem)
		end repeat
	end if
end tell

I’ve tried this code too (note the “get” before selection repeat and another “get” before getting the shared track)

repeat with newItem in (get selection)
			set newArtist to artist of newItem
			set newAlbum to album of newItem
			set newName to name of newItem

set oldItem to item 1 of (get tracks of source "MyPCLibrary" whose artist is newArtist and album is newAlbum and name is newName)

-- oldItem, here, is rightly pointing to desired song

set date added of newItem to (get date added of oldItem)
		end repeat
	end if
end tell

Also tried to copy “date added” from another song in the same local library (library playlist 1) but didn’t worked. And, also, I’ve tried with any other metadata (such as “played count”, or any other) but did’nt worked. The unique way it’s working is setting manually a value like: “set date added of newItem to current date”

Anyone knows what I’m doing wrong?

Hi,

from the iTunes dictionary:

date added get date the date the track was added to the playlist

date added is read only

I saw that, but following code is working fine:

set date added of newItem to current date