Copying text from a Safari "View Source" window

I have a question… is it possible to come up with some kind of Applescript so you can copy certain text from a Safari “View Source” window?

I’m trying to create a catalog of images we’ve downloaded from a stock agency, and make it keyword-searchable. The words I need in the Page Source view, the metadata, always appears in the same way.

The first part is: <meta name=“keywords” content=

Then there are the set of keywords:

“Horizontal, One Person, Falling, Sky, Flock Of Birds, Flying, Cloudscape, Cloud, Building Exterior, Physical Pressure, stock images, royalty free images, stock photography, stock photos, inexpensive, istockphoto” />

and it always ends in istockphoto" />

So the whole thing is:

I should be able to come up with something that will find the first part, then copy all the text between the quotation marks, uhhhh… right? Easy-peasy… just a few lines of code… huh? :rolleyes:

I’ve very little experience with AppleScript… almost none in fact, and it looks as if I should be able to do some of this just using the Safari library, but I’m not having any luck so far.

Hi,

How about something like this. Have the page frontmost in Safari and run this script:

-- John Maisey -- [url=http://www.nhoj.co.uk]www.nhoj.co.uk[/url] -- 10 Mar 2010
tell application "Safari" to set myText to source of front document

set my text item delimiters to "<meta name=\"keywords\" content="
set myText to text item 2 of myText
set my text item delimiters to "istockphoto\" />"
set myText to text item 1 of myText
set my text item delimiters to {""}

return myText

Best wishes

John M

Hi John,

This worked pretty well.

I tweaked one line so that the last work, “istockphoto” would be included.

set my text item delimiters to "/>"

return myText

This gives me a Result that looks like: