Create a 0kb file from an existing file.

So, I was wondering if this is possible to do. I want to take an existing file, a .doc, .jpg, or a .mov, and then create a file without data from it.

Essentially, it would create a file from a file name, so if I chose a folder, that had a bunch of different documents in it and ran the script, it would give me duplicates of all in another folder without any of the data.

They would still need to have all the right file types and everything as well.

I don’t know how easy this would be to do, but I’m really new to applescript, so if anyone could tell me how, I’d greatly appreciate it.

Like so, perhaps - works with documents anyway; I didn’t try applications:

set Source to (choose folder) -- the one with the real files
set N to name of (info for Source)
tell application "Finder"
	set Dest to make new folder at desktop with properties {name:N & "-Dupes"}
	set AllF to name of files of entire contents of Source
	repeat with F in AllF
		make new file at Dest with properties {name:F}
	end repeat
end tell

I tried doing it with a .dmg and instead of giving me a single file that looked like a .dmg it gave me a bunch of files that had each letter of the file name. So, I’m not really sure what’s wrong. I think that it essentially works, but I don’t know why I’m getting letters instead of the full filename for the file.

You hadn’t said what you wanted to do, but I’m sure that .dmg is not going to work this way. You can’t create an empty disk image (it can have nothing in it, but it has to have a size). The normal way to do one is to use the Disk Utility.

Why do you want to do this? If it’s just to get the icons, there are better ways.

Well, I have been trying multiple files, and instead of getting a file, I get files with a single letter as blank text documents.