Create a login script on a single machine to create a file in library

Hi,

I am new to this, please be kind.

What I want to do is, have a script run when a user logs into their account. I would like the script to remove or delete a particular file in their /User/Library/Preferences folder.

I don’t understand scripting and I have just started to read some info about it. I would like to learn more and I think this is a great place to start, the problem is that I need this to be able to work now. I doesn’t seem to me that this is very difficult to do. So some help would be greatly appreciated.

The script would run on tiger machines (intel and PPC)

thanks

Here’s the code that should work, just uncomment the deletion method you would like to use.

set prefPath to path to preferences folder as Unicode text
set filePath to prefPath & "your filename here"

-- This block to move to trash
-- tell application "Finder" to move file filePath to trash

-- This block to delete and bypass trash
-- do shell script "/bin/rm " & quoted form of (POSIX path of filePath)

James,

Thanks so much for this.

I am a newbie to this so I hope that you understand.

How do I go about executing this on the machine? Do I add the path information for the file and then compile the script and then place the script into a folder? Or is there some exact place that it needs to go? I am also not sure what you mean by “uncomment the deletion method you would like to use”?

Sorry for the what I am sure are elementary questions, but I am hoping at the same time this will help further to understand how scripting works.

thanks

I realized the header on this subject should read:

Create a login script on a single machine to delete a file in Library.

Sorry about that.