Create folders based on filenames and then populate folders?

Here’s the situation: Every morning I have a folder of files (DV video) consisting of a customer number and “asset number” (12345-01, 29386-04, etc.) that have been batch exported out of FCP overnight. Each customer can have several “assets.”

I want to learn to write a script that will create a new folder for each customer number and then populate the folder with the assets of the same name. The folder should be just “12345” and filled with “12345-01,12345-02…” The customer numbers change every day and the number of assets also varies.

The actual exported files have a much longer name, but as a newbie, I cobbled together a renamer in Automator that gets the files to the correct naming convention. I am grateful for any insights or solutions that would solve my issue and help me learn the method along the way!

Model: Dual 2 GHz PowerPC G5
AppleScript: 2.1.2
Browser: Firefox 2.0.0.9
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

I don’t understand you very well. Please clarify.

• So first of all, you receive in a folder some files OR in that folder a folder with files in it (and no other folders with files).
    e.g.:
    "/Folder With Received Files/myFCPMovies/" (where * can only be a file)
    OR
    "/Folder With Received Files/myFCPMovies/Movie 1/
    (where * can only be a file)

• Second you go to a file to see which customer has send it.
    e.g.:
    15465-MOVIEID-45A654D (this files belongs to customer 15465

• Then you check in your database-folder if the folder “15465” all ready exists. If not, make a new one.

• Move all the files of the folders in “/Folder With Received Files/” to the folder in the database-folder that belongs to the right customer (in this example “15465”)

• Delete all remaining folders in “/Folder WIth Received Files/”

Am I right?

ief2

Thank you for the reply, here is some clarification.

“/Folder With Received Files/myFCPMovies/*” (where * can only be a file)