Creating folders with sub folders

I’m a graphic designer, new to applescripting, automator, etc. and am looking for a little advice.

We’re a mac based Advertising agency, all on Tiger.

I need to figure out a way to run a script or automate making folder sets.

Below is an example of one set I want users to be able to automatically generate:

Folder:
Portfolio

Subfolders:
Television
Radio
Print Outdoor
Direct Marketing
Nontraditional
Collateral
Identity
Environmental
Packaging
Interactive

I’ve been able to make a script with scripteditor, as well as automator that does this, but it won’t work on other peoples machines. It’s specific to my machine.

Can anyone help me sove this problem?

Ideally what i would like to do is make a bunch of these scripts that make folder sets, and make an application that allows you to pick what type of folder set you would like to create, and have it automatically generated.

Can anyone point me in the right direction.

Thanks,

(apologies for any terminology i used incorrectly)

Paul

Model: G5
AppleScript: 2.1.1 i think
Browser: Firefox 1.5.0.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Hi Paul,

You don’t say if you want the user to be able to choose where the folders are added. If it is to a particular folder (like the Desktop) you can set a generic ‘path to’ - see the Standard Additions scripting dictionary> File Commands> Path To.

Take a look at this script:

-- List of top level folder names.
set typeList to {"Portfolio", "type 2", "type 3"}
-- Choose from this list.
set folderType to (choose from list typeList with prompt "Which folder set do you want?") as text
-- Depending on the answer choose a sub folder list.
if folderType is "Portfolio" then
	set subList to {"Television", "Radio", "Print Outdoor", "Direct Marketing", "Nontraditional", "Collateral", "Identity", "Environmental", "Packaging", "Interactive"}
else if folderType is "type 2" then
	set subList to {"sub 1", "sub 2", "sub 3"}
else if folderType is "type 3" then