Currency Converter Tutorial Help

I’m new to Applescript so I thought I would start out with the Currency Converter Tutorial in the Applescript Studio Programming Guide. I completed the exercise but my script is not working correctly.

the code is (from page 114):

on clicked theObject
tell window of theObject
try
set theRate to contents of text field “rate” as number
>>>set theAmount to contents of text field “amount” as number<<<
set contents of text field “total” to theRate * theAmount
on error
set contents of text field “total” to 0
end try
end tell
end clicked

The variable theRate works correctly but the variable theAmount is failing because it is not defined. I thought it may be a scoping issue so I defined the variable theAmount as a global but it changed nothing. I double checked the name of the control. The problem is with the “contents of text field “amount” as number” is not returning a value. Why? What basic element am I missing?

Thanks in advance
mpd

Hi and welcome.

Please post Xcode questions into the appropriate forum :slight_smile:

Have you named the text field “amount” in Interface Builder > Inspector > tab AppleScript?

Thanks Stephan

Were should I post this kind of question?

Yes, the amount name is correct.

mpd

The Xcode forum is fine, some helping hand has moved the thread form OS X to the Xcode section. :wink:

I recommend to compare your project with the working one at /Developer/Examples/AppleScript Studio/Currency Converter/

Thanks Stephan

I copied the applescript code and I still have an issue so the code is not the problem.

I then compared the attributes on the controls (NSTextboxes) and nothing jumps out at me, they look the same.

This line works: set theAmount to 23
This line doesn’t: set theAmount to contents of text field “amount”

Looks like the textbox “amount” doesn’t exist but I know it does.

I’m sure not off to a good start.
mpd

the AppleScript Code is not the problem.