Date & time stamp emails

I am brand new to the world of Apple Macs. Just now getting into my new Mac Pro.

One of the really neat applications that I used all the time on my PC was a calendar program that replaced the MS date/time application. I could mouse click the current date in the lower right screen of my PC & then paste the current date & time in ANY email, Word doc, spreadsheet that I wanted. The stamp was completely configurable.

I have not found anything like that on the Mac side of things so I thought an Applescript might do the job.

Can someone direct me to a script I could use or a site that I could search for that type of script?

Thank you.

Well this is sort of the same thing. Enable the Scripts Menu and place a script in the with this contents.

set d to (current date) as text
set the clipboard to d

So while your not clicking the Time/Date yourself your clicking very close to it to accomplish the same effect.

Welcome to bbs.applescript.net.

There’s an application called MenuCalendarClock that does that (approximately). It would be easy to put the current date and/or time into the clipboard from an AppleScript, but not so easy to make it user-configurable. If you’ll show us the format(s) [one or two] you’d like to have, I’m sure someone will whip something up or perhaps even has something.

James,

I copied your script into the editor & saved it in the Library/Script folder.

Do I run the script by setting up something in Automator?

Hi Adam,

Here is the format I usually use as my time stamp: Tuesday, May 15 at 02:50 PM

Here’s the one I use in YY/MM/DD hr:min:sec format which sorts correctly. [Nigel Garvey and/or Kai Edwards derived, can’t recall].

to makeStamp(Now, DelimD, DelimT) -- the first delim for date, the second for time.
	tell Now to tell 100000000 + day * 1000000 + (its month) * 10000 + year as string ¬
		to set dateStamp to text -2 thru -1 & DelimD & text 4 thru 5 & DelimD & text 2 thru 3