Delete all items in a folder

Hello everyone and thank u for taking the time to help me.

Well, this is my first time working with applescript, I got the logic but I’m having some trouble with the syntax. I been working on a script that would delete all the items in a folder. I got it to do so but I run into problems with the locked files, I looked around and found the way to unlock the files, now I need to unlock files within other folders I know I have to use a recursive function so it can go in to multiple levels but i’m running into problems when I check to see if the item is a folder or just a file. This is my code at the moment, is not all of it and I’m just going one step at a time. The error that I keep on getting is “Finder got an error : File folder Folder 1 wasn’t found.” Folder 1 is one of the folders inside of the folder I want to delete the items from. Can anyone plz show me and explain what is it that I’m doing wrong thnx in advance.

X@vier

tell application "Finder"
	set x to alias �
		((startup disk as string) & ":Macintosh HD:Users:macadmin:Desktop:script_test_folder")

repeat with index from 1 to the count of x
		set currentItem to (item index of x)

set the currentItemInfo to info for currentItem
		if folder of the currentItemInfo is true then

display dialog " This is Folder " & currentItemInfo

end if

end repeat
end tell

:lol:

Maybe this will work.

set x to folder "script_test_folder" of desktop
	set locked of (files of entire contents of x) to false
	delete entire contents of x
end tell

– Rob

WOW buddy that worked gr8 thnx. Can u plz explain to me if u can y I was getting that error msg.

X@vier.

It might have been because of this line:

set x to alias ((startup disk as string) & ":MacintoshHD:Users:macadmin:Desktop:script_test_folder")

If the name of your startup disk is MacintoshHD, it was included twice in the path.

– Rob

Hello Rob