Display Dialog: three variables from one input screen?

Hi,

I’m a newbie trying to have a user input three integer variables into a “display dialog” screen. I have not found any reference for a “display dialog” function that can do this.

Basically, I want to have a dialog window appear that has three separate text fields that the user has to enter numbers into (similar to the way that Windows Users have to enter their Code-Key when registering their software).

Each input field will be assigned to a separate variable that I can then manipulate and use in my script.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance

Model: PowerBook G4
AppleScript: 2.0.1
Browser: Safari 525.20.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.5)

This article is the best place to start. Go through the examples there, and see if it gets you any closer to your goal, then post back (or create a new thread) with any other questions.

Good luck,

Hi,

you can’t do this with plain AppleScript, but you could do it with AppleScript Studio,
by writing an application with a custom dialog window. This applications is also scriptable

Or use one dialog and extract the answers (no error checking in the example):

set Ans to text returned of (display dialog "Please enter 3 integers separated by commas without spaces" default answer "1,2,3")
set tid to AppleScript's text item delimiters
set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ","
set tParts to text items of Ans
set AppleScript's text item delimiters to tid
set {Int_1, Int_2, Int_3} to tParts

Thank you Adam, Stephan, and Craig,