displaying image data

I’m new to AS Studio. I’m trying to figure out how to set an image view to the image data stored in a variable/property. I’m trying to “push” the current iTunes artwork to my app. Tried this –

tell application “iTunes” to set theArtwork to data of artwork 1 of current track
set image of image view 1 of window 1 to [image/image data/data/load image] theArtwork

– to no avail. Any ideas?

Hm, okay. Just fount this thread: http://bbs.applescript.net/viewtopic.php?id=13958, where I guess I should have posted my question in the first place. But I’m leaving this thread open, since its a slightly diffent question. Let me rephrase it: is it really impossible to set an image view to property data? Do you really have to first extract the data, save it to a file and then read it again? Sounds kludgy to me :confused:

No, you do not necessarily have to write to a temporary file, then read it. I’ve never worked with itunes artwork, so you’ll need to clarify some things for me. Is the artwork saved in separate files, or is it embedded in the songs themselves? If there are jpg files somewhere then obviously finding a way to identify and read them is best. If they are embedded, then you’ll have to deal with that first. Once you’ve found a way to extract the raw data from the music file (as a string), then you can use the following code to display it in an image view. It can not be done in plain AS, you’ll have to write a custom method which will do all of the work for you in obj-c. You’ll need to extract the picture data, so you arrive with a string that contains the raw image data for the picture, the equivalent to doing something like set rawImageData to read file “Path:To:Some:File.jpg” as string in the AS code below.