Do a file search and loop through results... Batch Quark files to PDF

Hi everyone

I’m a network admin for a small publishing business, and the guys who use the Macs have a particular problem I need to solve.
Batch converting up to 100 Quark 6.5 files to PDF files, and I’m a complete newbie to AppleScript.
On a PC this could be done very easily but that’s not an option with this since we need the PDF to look exactly like the source Quark file… converting the Quark files to PC Quark, then having the fonts substituted for PC equivalents causes changes in the spacings etc.

The guys in the studio are using a variety of OSX versions, some Panther, some Tiger.
I believe the OSX Automator only appeared with Tiger, though I am probably wrong as I’m not in the world of Macs.

But for this task, we can just use the same machine every time so if it can only be done on Tiger then we’ll just always run it on that particular Mac.

Each issue of the magazine lives in a separate folder on our NAS.
Then each page or spread is in it’s own sub-folder along with the original word/text docs and all the images for that page/spread.

I’m guessing it’ll be difficult to access the NAS through AppleScript, so if necessary I can copy the issue folder from the NAS onto the OSX desktop. Then the script just runs through the local copy.

Here was my theory of how the script would run…

• Search through the magazine issue folder and return all Quark files from any subfolders.
  • Loop through each Quark document in the search results, opening it and running a particular menu/shortcut or menu option, close the Quark document

Right now I’m only concerned about part 1.
Once I’ve got that working I will worry about how Quark actually outputs the PDF, there are a few different options available for that.
So for the time being, all I want to achieve is to get Quark to open then close that Quark document… then move on to the next file in the results.