Duplicate and Myfile

Trying to have the following code change the name of a file in a chosen folder and then “duplicate” the newly named file to a new directory. There are jpg and txt files in the directory and I want to “duplicate” the txt files while renaming and duplicating the jpg files. All the code works fine for what I want to do except the “duplicate” command in the second “repeat” loop. The first “repeat” loop “duplicate” works fine. However, I want to use “duplicate” in the second “repeat” for both branches of the “if” statement and I want to use “myfile” instead of the clumsy (item i of a_list) and the incrementing of “i” while eliminating the “duplicate” in the first “repeat” which simply determines the variable I need to change the names of the jpg files? Any other pointers on code efficiency would be greatly appreciated. Needless to say, I am a rookie at this.

set this_folder to (choose folder with prompt "Pick the folder containing the files to process:") as string
tell application "System Events"
	set a_list to every file of folder this_folder
end tell

tell application "Finder"
	set destinationfolder to ((path to desktop as Unicode text) & "aaa:") as alias
	set extension_sep to "-"
	set word_end to ""
	set i to 0
	repeat with myfile in a_list
		set i to i + 1
		set n to name of myfile
		set file_extension to last word of n
		if file_extension = "txt" then
			set word_end to word 1 of n
			--this duplicate works okay, but I want it in the next loop while using myfile
			duplicate (item i of a_list) as alias to folder destinationfolder with replacing
		end if
	end repeat
	set i to 1
	repeat with myfile in a_list
		i = i + 1
		set n to name of myfile
		set the file_extension to the last word of n
		if the file_extension is "txt" then
			--duplicate something here using myfile
		else
			set n to (text 1 through ((length of n) - 4) of n) & extension_sep & word_end & ".jpg"
			set name of myfile to n
			--this duplicate always gives me an error