Dynamic script

Hi,

I am a newbie to AppleScript but it looks very promising, the first application that I have for it is a little script that would dynamically build aliases of files depending on the user’s selection. So far I was able to make a script that will make aliases of files, but i have to “hard code” the “original” file and the destination of the alias. Would it be possible to tell AppleScript to parse a text file with that information and more importantly to build the script dynamically (not having to use AppleScript studio or AppleScript Editor to compile the script).
Thank you very much in advance for any input about this.

Ben

Hi, Ben;

When you use “set myFile to (choose file)” the result in the variable myFile (or whatever) is an alias to the file chosen from a standard Finder dialog box.

With respect to extracting file names from a document, aliases to those can only be found if the file exists. Are you saying that given a document with file names you want to find them and create aliases to them in your script?

We need more info to be specific about this.

Hi binouch,

Here’s a modified version of the script I use to make aliai.

property folder_ref : missing value
--
tell application "Finder"
	set the_sel to selection
end tell
if the_sel is {} then
	display dialog "Nothing was selected." giving up after 5
	return
end if
	if not (exists folder_ref) then
		set folder_ref to (choose folder with prompt ¬
			"Choose a folder for the alias:") -- or make a new one
	end if
end tell
	make alias file at folder_ref to the_sel
end tell
display dialog "The alias' have been created." giving up after 5

It stores the destination folder in the script property.

Edited: come to think of it, this won’t work if run as a compiled script from the script menu. If would work only if run as an application from the Dock. You WOULD need some other way to store the info.

gl,