Entourage Applescript

Hi there

I am very very new to Applescript having only done a bit of Java before.

I need an Applescript that will show a popup dialog box after an email status is changed to read. For example when I click on it and it is marked as read or when I open it and then close it and it is marked as read.

This script needs to have two options, one button does nothing and the other button needs to forward the email onto a specified email address.

Can anyone help me or advise on this?

Many thanks in advance

Richard

Hello.

I can’t script Entourage, it might happen if it has an “onStatusChanged” event you could hook into for all what I now.

Microsoft use to have very good documentation for its products what concerns AppleScript, I suggest you go to mactopia and search for documentation about what events you can trigger.

Maybe you’ll find on huge pdf book. Having that and reading whats relevant for you, it will be much easier to ask the questions, and get something working.

A solution quickly falling into my mind, is marking and sending in on go as user initiated action. Sparing the obstacles with having to hook into an event.

Best Regards

McUsr

Hi all

I have had a stab at the Applescript and Mail Rule.

The Applescript I have wrote is:

However, I get the error message:

The script encountered error “Microsoft Entourage got an error: Can’t get read status.” during execution.

Does anyone have any idea on where I may have gone wrong?

Many thanks in advance.

Richard

Hello.

I don’t know if this works but you can’t at least use the read property of a message like that.

And you are using the wrong form of quotes to insert the code into your post too! :slight_smile:
Use the “Applescript” button for that! And as said: no guarantees, it might improve the error message however -if any :).

tell application "Microsoft Entourage"
	set theMsg to item 1 of (get current messages)
	tell theMsg
    		repeat while its read status = "untouched"