Error on repeat loop through Filemaker database records

I am trying to cycle through records from one table of a multi-table database and assign the field contents from a field called “ProposalID” to a variable called “proposalID”, but I keep getting an error ("Object not found: # -1728). It’s not clear to my what I’m doing wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here’s the code.

tell application "FileMaker Pro"
	tell database "MyDatabase"
		activate
		repeat with thisRecord in every record of table "Proposals"
			set proposalID to cellValue of cell "ProposalID" of thisRecord --this is where the error occurs
		end repeat
	end tell
end tell

Hello.

I have no experience in scripting FileMaker Pro. But seeing that error -1728 brings back some memories of missing references. You are within FileMaker Pro’s tell block but still you may need to tell it that the objects is it’s own.
I think what happens is that it looks for the objects in the top level scope of your script and can’t find them there.

Having already made up for errors that maybe aren’t there I’ll continue with the next.
thisRecord holds a reference to the current record of the table “Proposal” you may need to use the contents of clause to get access to what that reference actually contains.

Try this:

activate
		repeat with thisRecord in (get its every record of its table "Proposals") -- for Speed.
			set proposalID to cellValue of cell "ProposalID" of contents of thisRecord --this is where the error occurs
		end repeat
	end tell
end tell

I hope this helps

Best Regards

McUsr

Hi McUsr,