Excel 2008 - Howto copy ranges from several files to new workbook?

I am new to applescript and am in need of help!

I need to copy a selected range from several different workbooks to a new workbook. The ranges need to be pasted in the same sheet, side by side in consecutive columns.

Also, is it possible to copy the file name for each selected range and paste it on the first cell of each column in the new workbook?

I have so far been able to come up with the following code (some of it borrowed from a code by StefanK):

set sourceFiles to (choose file with prompt "Choose source files" of type {"XLS6", "XLS7", "XLS8", "XLS", "TXT"} with multiple selections allowed without invisibles)

tell application "Microsoft Excel"
	activate
	set targetBook to make new workbook
	repeat with oneFile in sourceFiles
		set sourceBook to open workbook workbook file name (oneFile as text)
		repeat with copy_range in (get range "b587:b2614" of active sheet of sourceBook)
			if value of used range of copy_range is not "" then
				copy range (copy_range of active sheet of sourceBook)
				tell sheet "Sheet1" of targetBook
					paste worksheet destination last sheet of targetBook
				end tell
			end if
		end repeat
		close sourceBook saving no
	end repeat
end tell

I run it (with no errors popping up). It looks like it is copying the selected range, however nothing is pasted in the new workbook!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Model: Macbook 2.4 GHz 2 GB
AppleScript: 2.0
Browser: Firefox 2.0.0.14
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.5)

Hi,

if you have less than 26 source files, try this

property firstRow : 587
property lastRow : 2614

set sourceFiles to (choose file with prompt "Choose source files" of type {"XLS6", "XLS7", "XLS8", "XLS", "TXT"} with multiple selections allowed without invisibles)
set firstUnusedColumn to 1
	-- activate
		set thisName to name of sourceBook
		set copy_range to range ("b" & firstRow & ":b" & lastRow) of active sheet of sourceBook