Excel: save as .xls using the value of two cells and and a given path

Hi Guys,
hope somebody can help me with this. I’m very new at Apple script and at scripting in general. I used to use Excel 2004 and vba macros (without knowing vba at all, using only the registration button and some help around the net) but now I have the need to pass to Excel 2008 and therefore using Apple script.
I have my code in vba (I didn’t put etiquettes because it’s not applescript), can anybody help me to converti it?
Furthemore I would need to put a condition: i.e. depending of the starting 3 characters put in the first cell (C3), changing the path of destination.
Thank you very much!! Marzia

Sub salva()
Dim C As String
C = “” & Range(“C3”) & “-” & Range(“J1”).Value
ActiveWorkbook.SaveAs Filename:=“Marcie:DOCUMENTI:” & C & “.xls” _
, FileFormat:=xlNormal, Password:=“”, WriteResPassword:=“”, _
ReadOnlyRecommended:=False, CreateBackup:=False
End Sub

Hello.

You should be able to find a 3 part I think (VBA to AppleScript Transition guide in the archives of http://www.mactech.com/

Thank you McUsr, I know already the guide but since I’m a beginner in programming i guess I need a month studying to be able to do it myself (plus english is not my first language…)…unfortunately i run out of time to solve this particular thing. So…any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you again. Marzia

Hello.

I believe you should be able to make this work for you.

set savePath to "YOUR PATH"
tell application "Microsoft Excel"
	set a to value of cell "c3" of active sheet of active workbook
	set b to value of cell "j1" of active sheet of active workbook -- as integer if it is a number here
	set c to (a as text) & b as text
	tell active workbook
		save workbook as filename savePath & c & ".xls" file format Excel7 file format password "" write reservation password "" without create backup
	end tell
end tell