Exporting a bundled file?

I’m not really a programmer, so sometimes I miss the obvious solution right in front of me. Which is what I am hoping is the case here.

This is what I want: My app has a csv file bundled with it, in which it stores data. Kind of like a log. I want to be able to copy that file from within the app to a folder of choice.

This is what I have:

on exportLog()
	set exportLocation to (choose folder with prompt "Select destination for the exported log:") as string
	set fileLocation to ((path to current application as string) & "Contents:Resources:")
	set fileName to "myLog.csv"

try
		tell application Finder
			duplicate (fileName of fileLocation) to exportLocation with replacing
		end tell
	on error
		display dialog "Unable to copy the log file."
	end try
end exportLog

Now, I’m pretty sure that it’s the duplicate call that’s missing something, but for the life of me, I can’t figure out what. Can anyone point me in the right direction here?

Yes, I think your problem is you need an actual path with the duplicate command. “fileName of fileLocation” is not a path… actually i don’t know what it is. To make that a path you would need to add the two strings together…

set myFilePath to fileLocation & fileName
tell application “Finder” to duplicate file myFilePath to folder exportLocation with replacing
→ notice I placed the word “file” in front of the path because you have to make the string into a file specification that the Finder can understand. Similarly I placed the word “folder” in front of the folder path because that is a string also. The Finder does not understand strings.

Here’s another tip…
You can directly get the path to a file inside your application like this:
set myFilePosixPath to path for resource “myLog” extension “csv”

Notice that the result of the above command is a posix style path (i.e. slash deliminated). You can change that to a mac format file specification that the Finder can understand easily like this: