Extract IPTC tags from images within iPhoto

Hello all!

I’m a recent switcher and totally new to Applescript, though I’m not new to programing (I’m an analyst-programer myself). I searched for this information every where, but I can’t find anything (except paying software). So, here’s my little project :

I want to be able to extract (read) IPTC tags, more specifically keywords (tags that a user puts to categorize his images), in order to recreate those tags as categories in iPhoto. This, from pictures imported in iPhoto. The objective is to facilitate the switching of users from PC to Mac, especially those with tons of pictures stored in Adobe Photoshop Album. Album 2 (and Photoshop CS, using the File Browser) have the option to write these tags to files. Any user could simply write them and this little script would be called to extract the tags, and reconstruct the hierarchy in iPhoto automatically. This project, if it works, will allow several persons to switch easily from Windows to Mac.

I’ve looked at Caption buddy but the commands it uses only extract the title and caption of the images. I have no clue how to extract the keyword(s). I’ve also looked at the scripts found on Apple’s Applescript website, but they’re for iPhoto 2 and are giving me error message (i.e. the JPG object does not understand the… ).

What’s more frustrating (from my point of view) is that if you do a Get Info on an image which contains IPTC tags, the Finder will show them!!! So, under Mac OS, there must a way to manipulate this info without relying on a 3rd party software.

So, my specific questions :

• Anybody knows where to start ? (just kidding I already got two books on AppleScript and will read them next week-end) :slight_smile:
  • Is there web resources that explains how to do this (I search AppleScript IPTC, Metadata, IPDC, nothing)
  • Routines I could modify to extract the data ?