Extracting info with Text Item Delimiters.... [PDF]

Hi All,

I’ve been reading a bit on the Text Item Delimeters on the forum, as i’m really new to them. I thought it may help me with a small issue i have but i can’t figure out how to use them in this scenario. Alot of the stuff i’ve read on them, already have the text within the applescript to amend.
I don’t know if this is possible or i’m looking at the wrong type of Applescript, but i’m wanting my script to read through a pdf file and find the paths of linked images and set them as variables so i automatically collect them later…
I will be using different pdfs, with different linked images, the only thing that is common is that all the images are held on the same server.
so…
inside the pdf, the start of the linked file line would be: ‘%%DocumentFiles:/Volumes/MyServer/etc/etc’ - i would like to take this line from the pdf and then have my applescript collect the linked image (which is the easy part :D) i’ve just got no idea how to get this variable line from my pdf?..

i just pretty confused and don’t know if this is the right way to go about it? A point in the right direction would be great help…

Thanks…

This is easy to do if and only if a file is readable as plain or unicode text. A PDF file is not, and Adobe Reader is not scriptable so you have no way of applying TIDs. I might have a workaround and I’ll post back.

Here’s a method that “sorta” works; a hack.

set F to choose file default location (path to documents folder) without invisibles
tell application "Preview" to open F
delay 2
activate application "Preview"
tell application "System Events" to tell process "Preview"
	keystroke "a" using {command down}
	delay 3
	keystroke "c" using {command down}
end tell
set R to the clipboard
-- and so on with the TID extractions

You may have to fiddle with the delays. Some PDFs simply don’t show up in Preview, and others are not copyable.

Try something like this: