extracting text from a web page into a .txt file

Hi,
I’m new to applescript, but having read some posts on this forum, i’m sure i can use it for my task…

I’d like to be able to select text from a web page (loaded in safari if needed), and save that text as a .txt file on my desktop. I dont need any info such as timestamps, dates, urls etc in the .txt file, just the words that are on the web page.

Ideally, I’d like the script to run automatically, say every 10 minutes (assuming that ill be taking text from a blog or something that is being constantly updated), overwriting the .txt file each time. Basically, im setting up a multimedia application that reads a .txt file and uses its contents to create moving image sequences etc, so if possible i need the file name to be something like ‘blog.txt’, rather than the script deciding what to call it.

A huge plus would be to somehow control what text the script grabs - i.e a specified frame of the webpage, or maybe just the first 10 lines or something.

Any advice would be great,
Many thanks
James

Hi James,

this is certainly possible, but the way to do this depends on the source text of the webpage.
If it’s possible to access the text by the curl shell command, a web browser is not needed.
If a lot of PHP or javascript is used, you must read the text from the open browser window.

Have you an example?

Great, thanks.

I havent got an example of the web page yet, as im planning on setting up the web page once i know how simple the script needs it to be, if that makes sense!

I’m planning on customising a blogger page (so people can post text on the site, which can eventually be fed into the multimedia application). With a bit of code changing, I should be able to strip the blogger page down to just text (get rid of all the content that i dont want in the multimedia application etc.)