Extracting Variable length text strings

Hi, I have looked through the forum looking for some code snippets to perform this function but haven’t found the right bits to do the job.

I am attempting to extract data strings from voluminous text files that are bounded by two unique characters, let’s say # on the front end of the string and * on the back end. The string between is variable length and I am unable to use traditional find and replace functions in typical text editors to achieve my objective.

Could someone point me in the right direction? I am a code newbie, but am looking forward to tackling this project.

Thanks in advance!

Regular expressions are ideal for this sort of task. Using TextCommands:

tell application "TextCommands"
	search txt for "#(.*?)\\*" with regex
end tell

HTH

As already noted, the Code Exchange forum is for posting full snippets/solutions. In the future, please use the other forums for help requests. This post will be moved.

Here’s something to get you started:

set ASTID to AppleScript's text item delimiters
set AppleScript's text item delimiters to {("*" & (ASCII character 10))}

choose file with prompt "Find text in this file:" without invisibles
get quoted form of POSIX path of result

do shell script "grep -o '#.\\+\\*' " & result & " | colrm 1 1" without altering line endings
set textItems to text items 1 thru -2 of result

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ASTID

return textItems

Edit: Small change to the shell script. Given this sample data:

. The result is:

Bruce,

Many thanks for the gracious bump and the code. This is a great teaching example, and I worked with your first code example last night - but couldnt’ get it to work just right. I thought at first that I choose poor delimeters as they are common in HTML source files, but I will work with your second example and see if I can make a go of it!

Thanks again,

Regards,
Cliff