Failure to save from TextEdit

All,

Sorry to bother. I’m having issues trying to save a document from TextEdit on Tiger. I’m new to AppleScript and have found no good example for saving an Untitled file to a specific path + filename.

I’m expecting this to save the file as /Users/grapeguy/Dev/25053.txt. Instead I get the Save dialog with the correct path but “Untitled 2” as the filename.

property out_path : "Users:grapeguy:Dev:"
property message_id : 23053

tell application "TextEdit"
	activate
	make new document at the front
	keystroke "this is a test"
	save document 1 in file ((out_path as text) & message_id)
end tell

Thanks in advance.

Bill Stephens

Hi Bill,

no file specifier, just the string path

activate
	set text of document 1 to "this is a test"
	save document 1 in (out_path & message_id) -- the coercion is useless: out_path IS text
end tell

Stefan,

Thanks for the quick reply, but this is still failing. I get the same save dialog with the “untitled” filename.

Bill S.

The script works also in Tiger.
Is the path in the property correct.
HFS paths start with the disk name (e.g. "Macintosh HD:Users:grapeguy:Dev:)

Stefan,

That doesn’t work either. I’ve tried saving from TextEdit, Safari and Firefox and it has never worked. What a pain.

The only way that I’ve found that works is this:

set logAlias to out_path & message_id & ".txt"
set logFile to (open for access file logAlias with write permission) -- open the file (creates it if necessary)
set eof logFile to 0 -- clear out any existing content
write pageSource & return to logFile
close access logFile

Unfortunately, that causes odd characters to be present in the file that I cannot insert in this message.

Thanks,
Bill S.

Does this work for you?

set theDoc to make new document with properties {text:"this is a test"}
	close theDoc saving yes saving in (out_path & "23053.txt")
end tell

Tom

Browser: Camino
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Tom_x,