File rename question simplified…

I have variable data saved as a string in my script as this_file
In the script, I have just created a file and saved it to a folder on my harddrive.
I would actually like it to be named as the file information stored in this_file

Here is the relevant script…

tell application "Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Pro#DE835"
	save document 1 to "Ren Mark G4-5:save:first"
	close all docs saving no
end tell
tell application "Finder"
	set newest_file to alias "Ren Mark G4-5:save:first"
	set this_item to this_item as alias -- currently a string
	set newest_file to name of this_item
end tell

This doesn’t work. Ideally, I would like to save the Acrobat file originally with the information stored in this_file. I know the information is there, because when I get an as error on this it displays it.

I am really new at this and trying my butt off. Any help somebody could offer here would be super appreciated.

Why aren’t you just putting the info in this_file directly into the name?

save document 1 to “Ren Mark G4-5:save:” & this_file

etc.

Thank you for the quick reply Adam :slight_smile:

Ok, this_item is set as a string currently with the string being “hard-drive:folder:file name of file being currently worked on in repeating script”.

I’m not quite sure how to get that information into my save command for Acrobat.

I tried both this

save document 1 to "Ren Mark G4-5:save" & this_item

and this

set this_item to this_item as alias
				save document 1 to "Ren Mark G4-5:save" & this_item

both times I got an error saying document 1 doesn’t understand save command. Any thoughts? A more complete version of the script is in an unanswered post from Friday if that helps any…