FileMaker Script works perfectly from Script Editor but...

I am new to AS and continually baffled, even when I succeed! I wrote a short script that does exactly what I want when I run it from Script Editor, but when I run it from a PERFORM APPLESCRIPT script step (which is how I ultimately need it to work), the only thing it seems to do is the “do script” command at the beginning and the beep I inserted at the end. It doesn’t even navigate thru the records.

I’m using FMP 8. Here’s the script exactly as I ran it except that I compacted the line spacing for this post:

tell application "FileMaker Pro"
	do script "clear usage counts" -- (a native FMP script)
	set match to ""
	go to record 1 of layout "Accounts"
	go to record 1 of layout "Batches"
	repeat with aa from 1 to number of records in layout "Accounts"
		repeat with bb from 1 to number of records in layout "Batches"
			if field "accountName" of record aa of layout "Accounts" is ¬
				field "accountName" of record bb of layout "Batches" then
				set match to match + (field "_messageCountInBatch" of record bb of layout "Batches")
			end if
		end repeat
		set field "usageCount" of record aa of layout "Accounts" to match
		set match to ""
	end repeat
	go to layout "Accounts"
	beep
end tell

I’ve tried it with and without the “Tell FMP” block. I’ve set up a couple other scripts that work properly, whether it’s from a script step or the Script Editor, but I can’t figure out why this one doesn’t. There’s obviously something I’m missing…

:confused:

Thia could be a problem calling a do script command inside a perform applescript command in Filemaker ( a guess)

Create a filemaker script with
Perform script “clear usage accounts” THEN
Perform applescript
tell application “FileMaker Pro”
set match to “”
go to record 1 of layout “Accounts”
go to record 1 of layout “Batches”
repeat with aa from 1 to number of records in layout “Accounts”
repeat with bb from 1 to number of records in layout “Batches”