Find and replace a specific font in Illustrator applescript

Hi all

I am new to applescript and cannot figure out why this isnt working, I would love some help please.

I am trying to select a specific font and then only replace that specific font with another, whilst leaving all other fonts untouched.

This is my version which seems as though it should work. It doesnt error but still wont change the font.

tell application "Adobe Illustrator"
	set t to every text frame of current document
	set y to count of every text frame of current document
	repeat with i in t
		if exists text font "Helvetica-Narrow" of text of i then
			set the text font of text of i to text font "Times-Italic" 
		end if
	end repeat
end tell

I can replace all text items with a specific font using this script in the whole document using this script, but as I said I only want to replace certain fonts:

set t to every text frame of document 1
	set y to count of every text frame of document 1
	repeat with i in t
		set the text font of text of i to text font "Times-Italic" -- or a number like 22 this number is the index of the text font
	end repeat
end tell

Model: 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro
AppleScript: Version 2.3 (118)
Browser: Firefox 13.0.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.6)

Hi. When you loop one variable in another, such as repeat with i in t, you end up with a reference like “item 1 of {whatever list items}”, rather than an object reference. This can be problematic, especially in Illustrator; you’d be better off iterating with a standard range, i.e., repeat with i from 1 to y.

Your example actually doesn’t require iteration (or the if consideration), as it can be filtered:

tell application "Illustrator CS"
	set endstateFont to text font "Times-Italic"
	tell document 1 to set (stories whose its text's text font contains text font "Helvetica-Narrow")'s text's text font to endstateFont
end tell