Find iCal events within time frame

Hey.

I want to make a script that I will run each time my mac returns from screen saver.
The goal of the script is to look into iCal for events that occur within today - tomorrow and contains [Alarm] in the notes, then change the wakeup schedule in energy saver to 61min before the event occurs.

All this to work around that iCal alarms won’t wake up my mac, and putting a fixed wake up time every day won’t work since it will enter sleep after 30min.

The wake up part will probably be with something like pmset schedule wake <The date/time the event occurs (ie 01/25/10 05:59:00 if the event occurs at 07:00)>. Any pointers? Mainly with how to deal with finding the events.

Hi Arkitekten.

I am not experienced enough to actually write the script, but here http://macscripter.net/viewtopic.php?pid=123564#p123564 you’ll find a script that wades through all entries of a calendar.

Your final solution might look something like this:

--  Definition of the time frame in which to search for an event
set current_date to current date
set time_frame_start to current_date - 2 * hours --  Look two hours back in time, like when the machine just woke up from sleep...
set time_frame_end to current_date + 1 * days --  Look ahead 1 day into the future...

tell application "iCal"
	--  Wade through all events in each calendar that occur in the defined time frame
	set all_events_of_calendar to (every event of calendar "WakeUps" whose (start date ≥ time_frame_start and start date ≤ time_frame_end))
	repeat with current_event in all_events_of_calendar

--  Check if any of them have the word "blah" in the description
		tell current_event
			if exists description then set current_event_description to description
			if current_event_description contains "blah" then do shell script "pmset sched ...."
		end tell

end repeat
end tell