find/replace with computers hostname help

Hi all, I am new to applescript and still learning.

I have a simple two line text file that i would like to populate with the computer’s hostname at the end of the file. Can someone help me with this please?

Ideally, i would need to check line 2 of the text file to see if it starts with “id=”. If it does, display line 2 (or the value after “=”) in a text box to be able to edit it if needed.

If there is no line 2 or nothing after the prefix, then fill in the prefix and auto-fill the hostname of the computer. Then display line 2 (or the value after “=”) in the text box to verify that the entry is correct.

once a user clicks ok, it will save the file and close.

Thanks in advance!

This will get you started:

set HostName to (do shell script "hostname -s") -- -s removes the domain, usually .local
display dialog HostName

You don’t tell us enough about the file you want to alter; it’s path for example – or do you want to choose it? The usual process would be to open the file for access with write permission, read it in as a variable in your script, parse it however you wish, i.e. look for id= in paragraph 2, then write the amended text back to the file and close access. Something like this:

set tFile to (choose file)
try
	set F to open for access tFile with write permission
	set fileText to read F
	set P1 to paragraph 1 of fileText
	set HostName to (do shell script "hostname -s")
	display dialog HostName
	if (count paragraphs of fileText) = 1 then -- second paragraph missing
		set P2 to "id=" & HostName
	else -- there is a second paragraph
		set P2 to paragraph 2 of fileText
		if P2 contains "id=" then 
			set P2 to P2 & HostName -- add the hostname
		else
			set P2 to "id=" & HostName -- add the whole thing
		end if
	end if
	set eof of F to 0 -- erases the original file
	write P1 & return & P2 to F -- write the new text
	close access F -- close the file
on error
	close access F -- if all hell breaks loose, close the file.