Finder and Adobe Illustrator Automation

Hi there,

Sorry this is a long script problem and I hope I’ve formatted it well enough to decipher!

First post here (or at least the first in a few years!)

I’m trying to get my head around automating a regular task on the Mac either using Automator or some other scripting method.
Below is a brief of what I do and the tasks/actions in question in steps that I do manually – I’ve automated some of it but it’s very clunky and wanted a more dynamic way of doing this “automatically”.
I’m not an expert at Mac scripting so hoping this isn’t too convoluted and possible!

To understand the task you will need an overview of what I do, so:
I produce print ready retail artwork using Adobe Illustrator which, once approved, is then “released” to the printer with relevant documentation and the file prepped for the printers.
It’s this “released” task which I’d like to automate. Each artwork file and documentation is in a variety of folders stored on an external RAID.

Each artwork folder is structured as below:

{Job Number} – {Filename} – {Printer} – this contains supplied files and other miscellaneous files used in the creation of the artwork.
>Artwork – {Job Number} – {Filename} – {Printer} – this is the folder that will ultimately go to the printer containing only the files relevant to them.
>>{Job Number} – {Filename} – {Printer} – this is the Adobe Illustrator File.
>>{Job Number} – {Filename} – {Printer} – this is a PDF of the above Illustrator file – used for Emailing while on the approval loop.

And these reside here on the RAID…

LIVE ARTWORK

REGION (either UK, IRELAND or SCOTLAND)

BRAND NAME

1• IN PROGRESS -this is where the artwork folders reside while being worked on

Completed - on approval -this is where the artwork folders are manually moved to while on approval
2• RELEASED – this is where the artwork folders are manually moved to once the release task is completed