Finding pixels using applescript.

Hello everybody,

i just registered here after checking the website so every now and often. Let me start by telling you i am by no means a programmer or scripter, but i do have a passion for it. I am working with Apples for about 15 years now and just recently i noticed what big leap applescript took (since classic enviroment).

Anyway to keep it short as no one is waiting for a big story about me :smiley:

I want to build a script which can check an Illustrator or Photoshop file and give me the coordinates of each pixel. The files i am using are all black & white so the script should only look for the black pixel and give me the X and Y coordinates of that pixel, meaning if we have a drawing it should be able to save all coordinates found into a text file (which will make a huge list i am aware of that)

Why would someone need this you ask! Well itā€™s easy i am building a small lathe device which will be controlled using my G5

Hopefully there is somebody out there that can tell me if applescript is capable of finding pixels in a black and white drawing and if so can help me out on how to achieve the desired result.

*in the mean time i am banging my head against a brick wall :slight_smile:

Kind regards

Bastiaan

Model: 1.8 Ghz PowerPC G5
Browser: Safari 417.8
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Hm, interesting problem. Iā€™m not ā€˜expertā€™ but hereā€™s my idea. You could script Photoshop CS or CS2, to count the pixel dimensions, select 1 pixel by 1 pixel starting at the top or wherever, and perhaps you can get whether the pixel is black or white, and then write that out to the text file.
An Illustrator file will need to be rasterized in greyscale, then changed to bitmap (1-bit) mode, and then the above process done again. You could manually script that process as well or use a photoshop action to make that a little more simple.

Hi there,